Uncategorized

Dear Protagonist: I Don’t Need to Like You

Michelle Muldoon's Blog and Website

Write Characters Relatable.

Dear Protagonist,

I like you, I really do. I like you because I’m living with you twenty-four seven. You hang out all day with me; follow me to work, take walks on the beach and and yes, we sleep together. (You don’t even have the decency to make the morning coffee every once in a while, but that’s another discussion.) Yet with a foible or two, and against better judgement, I still like you.

That whole “Save the Cat” moment? It’s a little over-rated. Yes, it helps if the audience sees something in you they like but it isn’t necessary. I mean, let’s face it, trying to find that special something that everyone loves is a little crazy. Come on, that’s like obsessing over the cool girl gang in school and losing what makes you unique in the process.

What is necessary is that everyone relates to you; your dreams…

View original post 239 more words

Leave a Reply

