Rants About Healthcare · Uncategorized

I Hate to Rant, And…

Hi Everyone,

Although I seldom do a personal post on this site, I love and prefer sharing other’s posts, today I am using this avenue to vent my frustration regarding the healthcare system here in BC.

For years I was trained not to complain, so if this occurs as a complaint, please bear with me as there’s method to my madness.

In 2011 I was suffering from horrific back pain and was told I needed surgery. The odds at that time were not great and I chose to go another route – a stem cell procedure. It was miraculous and I was out of pain overnight. The procedure was done by an awesome doctor in the States and I paid for it myself as insurance did not cover it. At that time, the doctor told me the relief would last three to four years and after that I would either need to have another stem cell procedure or surgery. He was dead-on.

In March of 2015 while I was in Portugal at our film’s world premiere, it started bothering me again and I was having trouble walking up hills – flat was still okay, but hills were quite painful. I kept going, thinking I could “stiff upper lip” my way through it for a bit longer. Then on my yearly trip to Southern France, the low back pain and the pain radiating down my legs got so bad, I knew I needed to take care of it.

In October of 2015, I went back to the doctor here in Vancouver, and she ordered an MRI which I had done in early December. The MRI confirmed our suspicions that the deterioration was much worse, and the doctor referred me to the neurosurgeon I had seen back in 2011. I waited five months to get in to see him (May of 2016) and he confirmed the need for surgery. Fortunately, the odds had improved exponentially and I agreed to have the surgery done. At that time, my condition had deteriorated to the point where I was having trouble walking more that a block or so at a time and hills were excrutiating. Although the neurosurgeon warned me it could be up to a year’s wait, he also said that most probably would be sooner.

Guess what? I’m still waiting! In December of 2016 the pain was so severe that we called 911 to take me to the hospital. That was a bust as the EMTs who came to the house told me the best I could hope for was more pain medication. Yech!!!

Then I got the word that I was tentatively scheduled for March 16th of 2017. That didn’t happen as I was preempted in favor of a brain tumor. I was tentatively rescheduled for April 5. Today I was notified that I’d been cancelled again, preempted by a brain tumor and to add insult to injury I was informed that the hospital had lost my paperwork. WHAT THE ****?

I’m now looking at another “3 to 4 weeks” and believe me when I say I have no confidence that this is valid. We live in one of the wealthiest countries in the world and that this is happening to people here in Canada is unacceptable. I’m not the only one going through this as every time this happens it’s a domino effect. I just can’t be quiet about it any longer.

So, I’ve taken action in the form of emails to several of my local TV and newspaper agencies requesting the opportunity to tell my story. Silence doesn’t work in this instance.

Thank you for your generous listening. I appreciate you.

Leave a Reply

